Thursday, June 6, 2013

NASA satellites watch the demise of Hurricane Barbara

NASA: NOAA's GOES-14 satellite captured Hurricane Barbara’s landfall in southwestern Mexico and movement across land, northward toward the Gulf of Mexico.

...Hurricane Barbara recently made landfall along the southern Pacific coast of Mexico and NASA’s TRMM and Suomi NPP satellites captured rainfall rates within the storm, and a night-time image of landfall. NOAA’s GOES satellites provided images that were made into an animation showing the landfall and movement across Mexico into the Bay of Campeche on May 31.

According to the National Hurricane Center (NHC), the center of Hurricane Barbara came ashore around 19:50 UTC (12:50 p.m. PDT) on Wednesday, May 29 about 35 km (~20 miles) west of Tonala, Mexico. At landfall, Barbara was a minimal Category 1 hurricane with maximum sustained winds of 75 mph.

The Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite captured a nighttime image of Hurricane Barbara before it made landfall in southwestern Mexico. The image was taken on May 29 at 08:22 UTC (4:22 a.m. EDT). In the image city lights from Mexico City and Coatzacoalcos were seen to the north and east of Barbara’s center....

Hurricane Barbara on May 29, 2013


Anonymous said...

I truly love your site.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this amazing site yourself?
Please reply back as I'm trying to create my very own site and would like to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Thanks!

my homepage - mortgage lender san diego

Anonymous said...

Whats up! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for
the good data you might have right here on this post.
I will be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

Look into my web-site ... ebay cherished teddies figurines